Thursday, April 12, 2007

Samuelson to receive Patriots' Award tonight

The Boston Athletic Association will present the sixth annual Patriots’ Award to marathon legend Joan Samuelson tonight at "Cheers" in Boston .

The award recognizes a New England sportsperson or organization for contributions both to sport and to the local community.Samuelson burst onto the scene when she won the 1979 Boston Marathon. The Bowdoin College student crossed the finish line in a Red Sox hat—in a new American-record time of 2:35:15—forever endearing her to the Boston crowds.She will forever be remembered for her dominating gold medal performance in the inaugural Olympic women’s marathon in 1984.

In 1999 Samuelson, a native of Cape Elizabeth, ME, founded the popular Beach to Beacon 10K, utilizing a course that runs along the coastline of her picturesque hometown. Each year, the race chooses one Maine-based, youth-oriented charity to benefit, making a donation and providing fundraising opportunities for the organization. This year marks the 10th anniversary of the Beach to Beacon 10K, and STRIVE—a non-profit organization serving developmentally disabled youth—has been announced as this year’s beneficiary.

Past recipients of the Patriots’ Award:

2002 New England Patriots / Robert and Myra Kraft

2003 Red Auerbach and the Red Auerbach Youth Foundation

2004 Ron Burton and the Ron Burton Training Village

2005 The Red Sox Foundation

2006 Dick and Rick Hoyt, Team Hoyt

Source: B.A.A.